Matchplay titles to be decided on Sunday

Pat Edenborough will take on Mark Dixon for the A grade matchplay title.

Pat Edenborough will take on Mark Dixon for the A grade matchplay title.

A grade club champion Peter Kirwin continued his good recent form by leading his team to victory in last Saturday's 4 Person Ambrose Sponsored by Kennedy, McAlister, Stammers and Webb.

Finishing first with53 7/8 points Pete was joined by James Kirwan, Jim Laycock and Paul Jones.

In second position with Craig Jeffries 55 7/8 were Craig Jeffries, Mick Curtale, Jake Moodie and Matt Jones.

The team of Mick Prescott, Cam Prescott, Brendan Tidswell and Kris Knights finished third with 56 1/4 points.

What's coming up

This weekend the Saturday golfers have the Presidents Vs Captains Stableford - sponsored by N Riley, R Newham, J Webster and J Campbell.

Please book online or contact the pro shop on 6342 1211 to book in for this event.

Individual Stableford Thursday, May 28.

Individual Stableford Friday, May 29.

4BBB Stableford Saturday, May 30.

Twilight Special

The club has introduced a Twilight Special for $10. This special is available Monday to Friday after 3pm. For all golfing enquiries please call the pro shop on 6342 1211.


The golf course remains open and is available for regular social and competition play, with new regulations in place.

Ladies Golf

On Wednesday, May 20 the ladies competed in an individual Stableford sponsored by: Skinner's Premium Butchery.

Twenty players took part with the nett winner Pip Bishop with 39 points from Cookie Dolbel with 38 points and Marcia MacPherson with 34 points on a countback.

Balls went to Pip Bishop, Cookie Dolbel, Marcia MacPherson, Lorraine Stubbing, Jenny Dresser and Sylvia McCormack.

Foursomes title

Next week we have the Foursomes Championships sponsored by Cowra Carpet Court. Please book online or contact the pro shop on 6342 1211 to book in for this event.

Matchplay Championships Sunday

The club's matchplay champions will be decided across three grades on Sunday, May 24 following hot on the heels of this year's cub championships were the eight finalists in each grade were determined.

In C grade Col Riding will take on Adam Rowe for the title teeing off at 8am. Col qualified for the final after defeating club champion Warwick Spence in the semi final 2 and 1 and Paul Smith in the quarter final 6 and 5.

Adam earned his berth after defeating Ticky Lee in the semi finals on the 19th and Rod Haug in the quarter finals 5 and 4.

B grade finalists Jim Bryant and Dave Thomas will tee off at 8.15am.

Dave Thomas, who was narrowly defeated in the B Grade club championships, made his way into the decider after defeating Mick Skinner in the semis 5 and 4.

In the quarters Dave was taken to the 20th for the win over Jim Laycock.

Jim Bryant was also taken to the 20th in his quarter final win over Mitch Shepherd and disposed of Jim Bryant 5 and 4 in the semi finals.

In the top grade decider Mark Dixon will take on Pat Edenborough teeing off at 8.30am.

Mark had a big win over club champion Pete Kirwin in their semi final 6 and 5.

This followed his quarter final win over Jim McNaught 8 and 7.

On the other side of the draw Pat Edenborough was pushed all the way in the quarter finals by Mick Curtale before going on to win 2 and 1.

In the semi finals Pat had a more comfortable 4 and 3 win over Leigh Browne.