Inner Wheel Club of Cowra celebrates Changeover Dinner | Photos

Members and guests of the Cowra Inner Wheel Club recently celebrated another year of service and friendship at their Annual Changeover which took place at Cowra Golf Club.

Cowra member Diane Walsh called the assembly to order and welcomed the guests, including Cowra Deputy Mayor, Councillor Judi Smith, A50 District Chairman Maria Bargwanna, A50 Vice Chairman Anne Holloway and Cowra Rotary President Bill Murphy.

There were members representing the clubs of Blayney, Lithgow and Orange and many from Cowra.

Mention was made of Cowra’s Foundation Member (since 1959), Eunice Bishop, who was not well enough at this time to attend the function.

Cr Smith proposed the Toast to Cowra Inner Wheel, acknowledging its service to the Cowra community in hosting the official Australia Day ceremony and donating Citizenship prizes to the local Cowra schools.

Donations had also been made to St Vincent de Paul and the Salvation Army.

Street stalls had been set up in Kendal Street, outside Optimal Pharmacy Plus and money had been raised for the Inner Wheel Australia National Project supporting “Cord Blood Research to give sick children and adults the chance of a happier future”. 

The Toast to International Inner Wheel was proposed by the A50 District Chairman Maria Bargwanna.

“Inner Wheel is one of the largest women’s voluntary service organizations in the world in 104 countries with over 108,614 members,” she said.

“The International Theme for 2018-19 is to ‘Empower and Evolve,’ to encourage members to know their Inner Wheel heritage and use this knowledge to ensure their growth and participate more confidently and successfully.

“The International social project for 2018-2021 is ‘ Caring for women and girls’, empowering women and girls is a prerequisite for creating a good nation. When women are empowered, society and stability is ensured”. 

President Heather Treasure read her annual report, thanking the committee who had assisted so ably in ensuring the purpose of Cowra’s Inner Wheel Club in ‘Leaving a Lasting Legacy’.

She spoke of the service they had given and the fun and friendship of monthly luncheons listening to guest speakers.

They had celebrated together at the Christmas party and lunched at the Cowra Japanese Garden Restaurant on World Inner Wheel Day. 

Cowra’s M and M Award (the name commemorating the extraordinary service of former members Marj Bassingthwaite and Marie Sullivan) was presented by President Heather to Beverley Bundy for her outstanding service and her consistent effort and enthusiasm as Treasurer for three years and Public Officer continuously since 1991. 

President Heather then inducted Linda Harris as President for 2018-19 and wished her a very happy and successful year.

The Committee for 2018-19 was introduced by President Linda: Vice President, Treasurer and Club Correspondent Christine Parker, Public Officer Beverley Bundy, Assistant Treasurer Diane White, Correspondence Secretary Sue Brown, Minute Secretary Diane Walsh, International Service Officer Anne Holloway, Historian Christine Murphy, Social Committee of Sylvia Pereira and Sue Perkins and Cord Blood Research Coordinator Peggy Chivers.

Member Anne Holloway thanked Steve and Karen for their capable catering at The Fairways newly decorated room of Cowra Golf Club and thanked all the members from other towns who had come to celebrate Cowra Inner Wheel’s Changeover.

The Flame of Friendship which had been lit by Sue Brown was extinguished by Pam Boler and the Luncheon concluded with the National anthem.