Lachlan Valley Biennial Art Award winners

An excellent crowd attended the Lachlan Valley Biennial Art Awards exhibition opening in the Cowra Regional Art Gallery last Friday night.

Following a welcome from director Brian Langer, Cowra Mayor Cr Bill West Opened the Exhibition, and Cowra Art Group President Ariel Piccles introduced the Awards Judge Bradley Hammond, Director of the Orange Art Gallery and Museum, who then announced the Award winners.

The Major Award, the Barbara Bennett Memorial Award, was won by highly excited Forbes artist Sampa Bhakta with her acrylic Contemporary Landscape inspired by the colour of the Canola Field.

Catherine Bennett representing the Bennett family presented the Award to Sampa. Other results were:

  • Section 1: The Steel Walsh and Murpyh Award for Painting in Oils or Acrylic was won by Bathurst artist Barbara Holmes and David Lake from Newbridge was Highly Commended.
  • Section 2: The Cowra Services Club Award for Drawing-Printmaking was won by Margaret Atkinson from Young and Highly Commended was Leonie Bell from Boorowa.
  • Section 3: The Waugoola Motors Award for Watercolour, Pastel or Mixed Media, was won by Wayne Roberts from Millthorpe and Jane Patterson from Bathurst was Highly Commended.
  • Section 4: The Robert Webster and Cowra Art Group Award for Miniatures was won by David Lake from Newbridge and Cowra’s Ariel Piccles was Highly Commended.

The Patron’s Peoples Choice Award will be decided after votes are counted at the end of the exhibition which closes October 29.

The Cowra Art Group thanks all who assisted with the exhibition in any way, and reminds members that the next Social Morning Tea is 10 am Wednesday, October 25 in President Ariel Piccles’ garden.