Visitor takes out Cowra 18 hole event

In ideal weather conditions and the great golf course in Cowra, brought out a field of 42 Veteran golfers, to play a nine hole stableford event commencing from the first tee. Many of the Veterans went on to play in the Pro Comp 18 hole event.

Michael Prescott was the winning Veteran, with 20 points, just ahead of David Gouge with 19 points, being the only two players to beat their handicap. Michael Prescott continued his good form into the Pro Comp to take out second place over the 18 Holes.


There were 11 prize winners who are listed with their Stableford score and the 18 Hole Handicap they played off in brackets.

20 Michael Prescott (7).

19 David Gouge (22).

18 Ken Harcombe (6).

17 Lester Black (24).

17 Michael Millar (20).

17 Mark Stirling (18).

16 Nicky Basson (2).

16 Garry Hampton (21).

16 Steven Johnstone (9).

16 Jeff Macpherson (5).

16 Ray Kelly (20)*.

*On a countback from other players on 16 points.

The prize winners will have their Veteran's Handicap reduced by 3, other entrants will have their handicap increased by 1. All Veterans handicaps will be reset to Golflink Handicaps for the start of the new year's point score on the 3rd of February 2022.


The Cowra Golf Club's Golf Professional, Tom Perfect's, 18 hole stableford competition, is open to all ages and run concurrently with the Veterans event, with players competing on their official GOLFLINK handicaps

It is pleasing to report that the Pro Comp field of 43, which included three visitors from Duntryleague Golf Club of Orange, two of whom were lady golfers, with Mary Lee winning the event.

Congratulations to the prize winners:

1st Mary Lee 41 (Stableford Points).

2nd Michael Prescott 40.

3rd Jefferey Macpherson 39.

4th Michael Millar 38.

The above players are in the Ball Sweep with the Runner Ups, Nicky Basson 35, Noah Ryan 35, Garry Hampton 35, James Brown 35, Mark Stirling 34, Tom Perfect, Janine Gallagher 34, Terry Winwood-Smith 34, Ken Harcombe 34.


Hole 5, (Sponsor - Nicky Basson). Winner at 15cm Noah Ryan.

Hole 14 (sponsor Jamie Judd). Winner at 395cm Terry Winwood-Smith.