Ladies tournament returns

Held over three days in drizzly weather conditions, the 2021 Cowra Ladies Annual Golf Tournament was played on June 16, 17 and 18.

The tournament had been played for 50 years, but due to COVID restrictions it was not held last year.

This year it was back in full swing and was a great success with over 80 local and visiting players taking part over the three days.

A big thank you to our generous sponsors Allan Grey & Co, Cowra Toyota, Beecher Wool Services, Carruthers Machinery, Cowra Services Club, Cowra Services Club Motel, Raine and Horne Cowra and Unearthed Homewares, who enable us to hold this event each year.

Also thank you to the Cowra Club President, Robert Oliver, golf club office and bar staff, catering staff and greens staff (who had the course in immaculate condition) and the veterans who helped with the raffle and novelty events.

Further thanks also goes to Tom Perfect in the pro shop and our Captain, Sylvia McCormack, her committee and members who assisted in all areas to ensure the success of the tournament.

Congratulations to Pauline Jeffery from Queanbeyan on winning the Cowra Cup and Cheryl McKeown on winning the Jean Peterwald Salver.

Results for Division 1:

36 hole scratch winner - Pauline Jeffery (Queanbeyan), runner up - Wendy Lynch (Queanbeyan).

36 hole handicap winner - Lorrae Barker (Canowindra), runner up - Meg Grady (Moss Vale).

Wednesday results:

18 hole stableford winner - Sylvia McCormack (Cowra), runner up - Yangeun Skerman (St Michaels).

Thursday results:

18 hole scratch winner - Jenny Dresser (Cowra), runner up - Helen Spencer (Young).

18 hole handicap winner - Insook Jun (Duntry League), runner up - Carmel Mansell (Cowra).

18 hole stableford winner - Jan Myers (Grenfell), runner up - Denise Haesler (Wellingtion).

Results for Division 2:

36 hole scratch winner - Evelyn Dovey (Moss Vale), runner up - Trish Moerkerken (Cowra).

36 hole handicap winner - Sally Mitton (Grenfell), runner up - Julie Scott (Grenfell).

Wednesday results:

18 hole scratch winner - Evelyn Dovey (Moss Vale), runner up - Trish Moerkerken (Cowra).

18 hole handicap winner - Julie Scott (Grenfell), runner up - Julie Roweth (Wentworth).

18 hole stableford winner - Jenny Hubbard (Forbes), runner up - Anne Coats (Cowra).

Thursday results:

18 hole scratch winner - Helen Moriarty (Cowra), runner up - Sally Mitton (Grenfell).

18 hole handicap winner - Penny Greaves (Young), runner up - Renee Smith (Moss Vale).

18 hole stableford winner - Helen Kemper (Canowindra), runner up - Pip Bishop (Cowra).

Results for Division 3:

36 hole scratch winner - Maurine Perkins (Young), runner up - Estelle Roberts (Young).

36 hole handicap winner - Helen Constable (Canowindra), runner up - Deb Gumley (Cowra).

Wednesday results:

18 hole scratch winner - Deb Gumley (Cowra), runner up - Maurine Perkins (Young).

18 hole handicap winner - Helen Constable (Canowinra), runner up - Shirly Mawhinney (Grenfell).

18 hole stableford winner - Coral Britt (Wentworth), runner up - Maureen Lawrence (Canowindra).

Thursday results:

18 hole scratch winner - Estell Roberts (Young), runner up - Anne-Maree Gaffney (Forbes).

18 hole handicap winner - Ajoy Morrow (Bathurst), runner up - Margaret Kullen (Bathurst).

18 hole stableford winner - Barbara Chapman (Duntry League), runner up - Patricia Harvey.

Nearest the Pins

Wednesday: 5th - Trish Moerkeren, 7th - Sylvia McCormack, 14th - Cheryl McKeown, 16th - Pauline Jeffery.

Thursday: 5th - Phillipa Hogan, 7th - Sylvia McCormack, 14th - Jenny Dresser, 16th Jan Myers.

Team awards

Wednesday: Meg Grady, Sylvia McCormack and Yangeum Skerman. Thursday: Carmel Mansell, Cookie Dolbel and Jenny Dresser.

Veteran winner was Lorrae Barker and Grandmother winner was Estelle Roberts.

Friday foursome event

Results for Division 1:

18 hole scratch winners - Pauline Jeffery and Wendy Lynch, runners up - Cheryl McKeown and Jenny Dresser.

18 hole handicap winners - Sally Perry and Heather Davidson, runners up - Sue Smith and Pip Bishop.

Results for Division 2:

18 hole scratch winners - Sylvia McCormack and Anne Coates, runners up - Jan Myers and Maria Neill.

18 hole handicap winners - Lindy Pollocks and Helen Moriarty, runners up - Jo Bush and Maureen Lawrence.

Nearest the Pins

5th - Cathy Kelly, 7th - Kinga Macpherson, 14th - Pauline Jeffery, 16th Katrina Ferris.