Sportsperson of the Year award returns to Cowra

The Cowra Sportsperson of the Year has returned for another year - its 39th edition - to celebrate the efforts of the area's best and most talented sports people.

With nominees coming from a wide array of sports, including rugby, hang-gliding, and shooting, and with hall of fame inductees, as well as the presentation of the Bill Barr Memorial, it promises to be a memorable evening for the Cowra community.

Three former members of the Australian Wallabies will be special guests for this year's event, while Greg Garlick will be on MC'ing duties.

Additionally, there will also be a tribute to the late Barry Doyle, who created the Sportsperson of the Year awards 39 years ago with businessman Don Kibbler.

The awards evening is on Friday, June 14, at the Cowra Services Club. Tickets go on sale on Monday, and can be purchased for $40 from the Services Club.

This year's nominees are as follows:


  • Matt Seears (Shooting)


  • Nicole Lowe-Tarbert (Martial Arts)


  • Josh Rainbow (Rugby League)


  • Josh Lawlor (Boxing)


  • Clayton Hayes (Soccer)


  • Glenn Falconer (Hockey)


  • Maurice Brown (Motor Racing)


  • Alana Ryan (Cricket)


  • Bill Statham (Rugby League)


  • Mikelli Garratt (Australian Rules)


  • Guy Hubbard (Hang Gliding)

There is one more nomination to be announced, in June, on the eve of the ceremony.

Last year's Sportsperson of the Year, Guy Hubbard, has followed up with another strong year, finishing third in the NSW State Championships to qualify for the Australian men's team that competes in Tolmezzo, Italy, later this year.

However, it will be another competitive year for nominations with several others winning at international level (Matt Seears), and many representing their state or region in team sport.

The Sportsperson of the Year award has a long and storied history in Cowra, with the likes of Dawn Fraser, Doug Walters, Anne Sargeant and Mike Whitney presenting awards throughout the history of the event.

Earlier winners include Steve Kurtz, Karen Lunn and Brett Dawes, with the likes of Lunn, Ernie Toshack, Tommy Raudonikus, Jane Parsons and Vicky Ticehurst-Croucher in the Hall of Fame.