Ballot draw doesn't faze candidates

Despite drawing the final spot on the ballot for the seat of Cootamundra at the March 23 State election, Shooters and Fishers candidate Matthew Stadtmiller says he is happy with the draw.

Greens candidate Jeffery Passlow has drawn the top position on the ballot paper which lists six candidates for the seat.

"I could not be happier. Past experience has demonstrated to me that position on a ballot paper is helpful," Mr Passlow said.

Junee resident Joseph Costello, representing Sustainable Australia, is a late addition to the election race, drawing fifth with Independent candidate Jim Saleam second on the ballot.

Sitting member Stephanie Cooke (Nationals) has drawn third spot on the ballot with Labor's Mark Douglass fourth and Shooters and Fishers candidate Matthew Stadtmiller sixth on the ballot.

"I'm happy to be drawn where I am, those who want to vote for me will have no trouble finding me," Mr Stadtmiller said after last Friday's draw.

"I don't mind where I am on the ballot.

"This election is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for rural MPs to win the balance of power and take control of Sydney.

"The National Party destroyed our rivers, and now we get to flush them out of power.

"I'd urge people to get out there, vote SFF, and ditch the major parties," Mr Stadtmiller said.

Labor candidate Mark Douglass also said he isn't bothered by ballot position.

"I'm not that bothered by the position on the ballot," Mr Douglass said.

"I'm more concerned about our future and will make this election about policy and vision.

"The negative effect of eight years of poor leadership in health, education and climate change is there for all to see," Mr Douglass said.

Drawing best of the higher profile candidates, third on the ballot, sitting member Steph Cooke pointed out "the ballot draw is based entirely on luck, and I have never taken the Cootamundra electorate for granted".

"I have worked extremely hard and will continue to do so for as long as I am given the privilege of serving the communities in the Cootamundra electorate," Ms Cooke said.

Pre-poll voting for the election commenced on Monday, March 11 from 8am.

Also making news: