Cowra and Canowindra under 13s aim for Central West Rugby Union grand final | Photos

The Canowindra/Cowra under 13s rugby team is one win away from featuring in Central West junior rugby union grand finals.

A thrilling two-point victory last week over Forbes Platypi in the minor semi-final secured the junior Eagles and Pythons a place in this weeks grand final qualifier against Mudgee Wombats.

The winner will meet Dubbo Roos in the decider.

This is the second year Cowra and Canowindra have joined forces in an effort to field a team in the Central West under 13s division and it’s working a treat, according to coach Andrew Smith.

“Two years ago we knew we would have 13s in Cowra. A few of us knew something had to be done so we put our heads together. Last year we came fifth, the side was a lot younger,” Andrew Smith said.

“It’s working really well.”

The 13s finished third at the end of the regular season and defeated fourth-placed Forbes in week one of the finals to progress to this week’s qualifier.

Andrew Smith praised the young players’ efforts so far this year.

“They all get on so well. They’re an easy side to coach and there’s a couple who haven’t played much before. We have about 26 on the books and last game they all had a go and they all put in 110 per cent.”

A mixture of juniors in their first year of 13s and some in their second year have gelled to create a competitive team in 2018.

“They’re a great bunch of kids who play with a very go lucky style,” Andrew Smith said.

Andrew Smith hopes an under 15s side emerges in 2019 and looks forward to seeing the continuation of an under 13s Cowra and Canowindra team in the Central West junior rugby union competition. 

This Saturday’s major semi-finals will be played at Wellington.

Winners book spots in their respective Central West junior rugby grand finals to be played on Saturday, September 8 at Forbes.

Cowra/Canowindra: Jack Bellach, Rory Sullivan, Alexander Mitchell, Andrew Townsend, James Hazell, Benjamin Smith, Jackson Stacey, Eoghan Killick, Louis O’Dea, Daniel Britten ©, Jock Stephenson, Joshua Chalker, Myles Miller, Hayden Gailey, Hugh Breen, Carter Langfield, Thomas Coghlan, Charlie Duclos, William Harrison, Tallis Bell, Damien Bell, Charlie Thurtell, Ciaran Kinsela, Mitchell Stephens.