Locals enjoy home track advantage | Photos, video

Dot Ayou was one of four Cowra horses to score victory on their home track during the Cowra Harness Racing Club’s Mother’s Day race meeting.

Dot Ayou clinched a second straight win in the Travealy Horse Drawn Carriages Ladyship Pace (2110m) at the Cowra Paceway, edging out Hallnightparty by 1.4m with a mile rate of 2:04.00s.

The six year old mare will back up this Sunday afternoon for the club’s annual Carnival of Cups meeting, trainer Darryl Davis aiming at one of the two Menangle Series Heats. 

“She’s in good form. She’s a big strong mare. We drew nine which isn’t the best but over that distance it wasn’t really a concern. Nathan [Turnbul] was confident and so was I,” Davis said.

“She’ll be going for three in a row this weekend. We may aim for the Menangle heat but we’ll see how the next few days pan out.”

Nathan Turnbull was in the gig for Dot Ayou’s victory.

He found an early avenue to the front from gate nine and kept Dot Ayou alongside pacesetter Ruth Shannon.

At the turn Dot Ayou kicked and Turnbull got her past the post ahead of a fast finishing Hallnightparty.

“He drove her perfectly. Nathan’s a good driver that’s why he’s doing the steering at the moment,” Davis said.

Cowra trainer Shannon Rye and driver Monique Parsons scored a winning double in races one and two with Moonstone Montana and The Secret Mouse, while Colin Fliedner had a win with Gold Onyx.

Davis, who is also the president of the Cowra Harness Racing Club, is hoping this Sunday is another successful day.

“For a little meeting it was really good,” he said.

“We didn’t have to extend nominations or anything. They’re always good. And the local trainers got their just rewards which is a credit to them.”

Sunday’s results

Race one

Moonstone Montana

Jeradas Delight


Race two

The Secret Mouse

Elegant Abby

Ladyjoanna Shannon

Race three

Major McRae


Rainbow Racer

Race four

Dot Ayou 


Keeping It Real

Race five


Remember Mac


Race six

Gold Onyx

Tulhurst Cash


Race seven

Freddy Funk

I’m All Courage


Race eight

Lockton Luck

Kenny Dee Dee

Ponte Milvio