St Pat’s dominance at Western Challenge continues with final win over Hawks

Bathurst St Pat’s has taken out a third consecutive Western Challenge after a 6-2 victory over Orange Hawks at Tom Clyburn Oval on Sunday.

In a replay of last year’s final, the blue and whites were made to come from behind to knock off a classy Hawks line-up in the decider.

Elise Woods scored the decisive try mid-way through the final period while skipper Mish Somers nailed the conversion from near the sideline to hand St Pat’s a hat-trick of titles at the annual pre-season event.

A whopping 22 teams made it to Canowindra for the carnival, which has grown to incorporate teams from every competition in the Western Rams region.

Blayney and Dubbo Westside were the other two teams to top their respective pools and progress through to the finals. 


10am: Blayney Bears 12 def Parkes Spacemen 6, Mudgee Dragons 6 def Condobolin Rams 0, Cowra Magpies 14 def Grenfell Goannas 4.

10:20am: Dubbo Westside 14 def Kandos Waratahs 0, Lithgow Workies 16 def Peak Hill Roosters 0.

10.40am: Tuggeranong Bush Rangers 4 def Trundle Boomers 0, Orange CYMS 24 def Canowindra Tigers 0, Parkes Spacemen 6 def Eugowra Golden Eagles 0.

11am: Bathurst St Pats 18 def Manildra Rhinos 0, Orange Hawks 18 def Grenfell Goannas 0, Cargo Blue Heelers 18 def Burrangong Bears 0.

11.20am: Blayney Bears 8 def Peak Hill Roosters 0, Condobolin Rams 8 def Orange Barbarians 0, Cowra Magpies 10 def Tuggeranong Bush Rangers 0.

11.40am: Kandos Waratahs 2 def Canowindra Tigers 0, Eugowra Golden Eagles 6 def Lithgow Workies 4, Bathurst St Pats 6 def Mudgee Dragons 0.

12pm: Orange Hawks 28 def Trundle Boomers 0, Dubbo Westside 0 drew with Cargo Blue Heelers 0, Parkes Spacemen 18 def Peak Hill Roosters 0.

12.20pm: Manildra Rhinos 16 def Orange Barbarians 0,  Tuggeranong Bush Rangers 4 def Grenfell Goannas 0, Orange Cyms 24 def Burrangong Bears 4.

12.40pm: Dubbo Westside 22 def Canowindra Tigers 0, Blayney Bears 7 def Eugowra Golden Eagles 6, Bathurst St Pats 6 def Condobolin Rams 0.

1pm: Orange Hawks 10 def Cowra Magpies 0, Burrangong Bears 10 def Kandos Waratahs 0, Lithgow Workies 2 def Parkes Spacemen 0.

1.20pm: Mudgee Dragons 6 def Manildra Rhinos 0, Trundle Boomers 6 def Grenfell Goannas 4, Cargo Blue Heelers 6 def Orange Cyms 2.

1.40pm: Eugowra Golden Eagles 14 def Peak Hill Roosters 0, Bathurst St Pats 24 Orange Barbarians 0, Orange Hawks 18 def Tuggeranong Bush Rangers 0.

2pm: Canowindra Tigers 10 def Burrangong Bears 0, Blayney Bears 6 def Lithgow Workies 0, Condobolin Rams 6 drew with Manildra Rhinos 6.

2.20pm: Cowra Magpies 8 def Trundle Boomers 0, Dubbo Westside 10 def Orange Cyms 4, Mudgee Dragons 6 def Orange Barbarians 4.

2.40pm: Cargo 22 def Kandos Waratahs 0, 

Semi-finals: Bathurst St Pat’s 6 def Blayney 0, Orange Hawks 10 def Dubbo Westside 0.

Final: Bathurst St Pats 6 def Orange Hawks 2.