Cowra looks to take opportunity and claim WZPL decider spot

Cowra is looking to secure its first appearance in a Western Zone Premier League grand final when Nick Berry’s men travel to Dubbo this Sunday.

While victory would clinch a home grand final, defeat could spell the end of Cowra’s campaign as Bathurst, who face Parkes, remains in the hunt ahead of this week’s fifth and final round. 

Front runners Dubbo will feature in the decider whether they win or lose.

Cowra’s named a strong side boasting an even balance of bowlers and a batting order which contains nearly as many left-handers as right-handers.

Nick Berry and Mick Curtale will look to play pivotal roles with the willow while paceman Tim Berry looms as Cowra’s major threat with the ball.

Nick Berry.

Nick Berry.

While off-spinner Josh Carmody and clever seamer Nathan Thorn are likely to get through plenty of overs.

Cowra does have an ace up its sleeve with the inclusion of little-known Central North colts representative Jye Paterson, who joins the squad having moved from Tamworth to Boorowa.

Paterson captained the Central North under 16s Bradman Cup team to glory in the 2015/2016 season and is likely to be injected into Cowra’s middle order while also providing another spinning option.

“He’s indicated he’d like to pursue his cricket in this program with the thought of maybe representing Western Zone down the track,” Cowra coach Matt Crawley said.

“He’s obviously a handy cricketer.”

Crawley is expecting a tough challenge but is confident Cowra can secure a home grand final.

“The boys have had this one in their calendars for three or four months. Everyone’s looking forward to it,” he said.

A bonus for Cowra is Dubbo missing its star wicket-keeper batsman Jordan Moran who is on representative duty with the NSW Country side.

The match begins from 10am this Sunday at Dubbo’s Victoria Park No.1 Oval.

The Western Zone Premier League final is scheduled for the following Sunday.

Cowra: Nick Berry (c), Tim Berry, Josh Carmody, Mick Curtale, Peter Guthrie, Sam Long, Jacob McNaught, Jye Paterson, Zach Starr, Nathan Thorn, Tom Thuaux, Brendan Traves.