Athletes enter the running for 38th edition of Sportsperson of the Year

Momentum is gathering behind the upcoming 38th Cowra Sportsperson of the Year awards.

Four monthly award winners have been announced for months June, July, August and September, and the committee is searching for further nominees.

Xavier Gauci (hockey), Guy Hubbard (hang gliding), Clayton Hayes (soccer) and Mick Curtale (cricket and golf) have secured a place in the running for the 2017-2018 major prize.

Gauci was a part of the gold medal winning Western Region hockey team at the combined high schools carnival and Hubbard represented Australia at the hang gliding world championships.

Hayes, the Western Mariners under 13s captain, played for NSW Country under 13s at the state soccer championships and Curtale won the Cowra Open and blasted a century for Cowra in its first representative cricket match of the season.

The committee is in the process of introducing some changes to the 38th edition of the Cowra sports awards.

A Friday night award presentation during June is close to being locked in and this year’s master of ceremonies Greg Garlick has agreed to host the evening again.

To nominate an athlete for a monthly award, email

Monthly awards 2017-18

  • June: Xavier Gauci - Hockey
  • July: Guy Hubbard - Hanggliding
  • August: Clayton Hayes - Soccer
  • September: Michael Curtale – Golf and Cricket