Tim Berry picked as Eagles’ best of 2017 season

Tim Berry, pictured during the 2017 season, picked up Cowra's best and fairest award.
Tim Berry, pictured during the 2017 season, picked up Cowra's best and fairest award.

Cowra Eagles stand-in skipper Tim Berry has taken out the club’s top gong of 2017, a year that marked his return to his junior club.

 Berry was a “standout”, according to coach Troy Hayes, his leadership qualities a highlight of his season return to The Nest following a number of years in Dubbo where he was a Roo.

Berry, who played No.8, was awarded best and fairest at the club’s presentation awards at the Eagles clubhouse on Saturday night.

With central west premierships under his belt from 2004 with CSU and Dubbo Roos in 2008, Berry was described as an “asset” to the entire club by his coach.

“He’s a great asset to the club. To have someone who has won two or three central west premierships and have him back was great,” Eagles coach Troy Hayes said.

While the final count for the best and fairest included a few contenders, Hayes said Berry was a deserved winner having been a standout throughout the season.

“I was told he finished third overall in the central west. He wasn’t only standing out in our eyes but standing out in everyone’s in the competition,” Hayes said.

“His leadership was one of his best qualities. He wouldn’t ask anyone to do anything he wouldn’t be able to do.

“His mental toughness also. He said he does feel it a bit more now but he’s an ability to shrug it off.

“He inspires our players out there.”

Cowra five-eight Bill Cummins was voted players player for another consistent season, his kicking game once again brilliant.

Kirk Stanbridge picked up most improved while Sam Cook and Jesse Talman were recognised by Hayes with the coach’s award.

“They’re two blokes who would play wherever I put them and wouldn’t whinge or complain. I think Sam played in just about every position other than front-row or second-row,” Hayes said of Cook and Talman.

“They’re great assets to the club and the club will benefit if they stay around.”

Sam McNaught received the second grade best and fairest, Matt Bryant won the Drew Russel prize for Colts best and fairest and Michelle Munro took out the top prize for the women’s team.

The Jack Berry Award for the club’s most valuable player went to Bill Cummins and Michelle Munro, Jen Lamond won supporter of the year, Tain Bell won the Paddy Lamond award, Jim Cooley won the Bill Rowlands award, Ben Eisenhauer picked up most promising and Michelle Munro won the Graham Proctor club person of the year.

When asked whether he knew if Tim Berry had given an indication of whether he lace up the boots for another season in 2018, coach Hayes said he was confident however was waiting to see how he finished cricket season.


  • Most Improved - Tain Bell
  • Coaches Award - Ben Eisenhauer
  • Players Player - Matt Bryant
  • Drew Russel Award for the Best & Fairest - Matt Bryant


  • Silly Filly - Becky Eastaway
  • Most Improved - Karina Russell
  • Coaches Award - Nicky Miller
  • Players Player - Betty Doolan
  • Best & Fairest - Michelle Munro


  • Most Improved - Blake Falconer
  • Coaches Award - Tim Scanlan
  • Players Player - Ben Eisenhauer
  • Best & Fairest - Sam McNaught

First Grade

  • Most Improved - Kirk Stanbridge
  • Coaches Award - Jesse Talman & Sam Cook
  • Players Player - Bill Cummins
  • Best & Fairest - Tim Berry

Individual Awards

  • Paddy Lamond Award - Tain Bell
  • Supporter of the Year - Jen Lamond
  • Bill Rowlands Award - Jim Cooley
  • Most Promising Club Player - Ben Eisenhauer
  • Jack Berry Most Valuable Club Player -  Bill Cummins & Michelle Munro
  • Graham Proctor Club Person of The Year - Michelle Munro