Cootamundra ballot paper order decided

Returning Officer Peter Seymour.
Returning Officer Peter Seymour.

The ballot paper draw for the Cootamundra by-election was held Thursday afternoon, with six candidates officially running for the seat on October 14. 

Returning Officer Peter Seymour was on hand to officiate the proceedings, with assistance from Leanne Penfold. 

The six candidates on the ballot paper in order will be: 

  1. Philip Langfield – Christian Democratic Party (Fred Nile Group)
  2. Jeffery Passlow – The Greens
  3. Matthew Stadtmiller – Shooters, Fishers and Farmers 
  4. Jim Saleam
  5. Charlie Sheahan – Country Labor 
  6. Steph Cooke – The Nationals 

The two candidates in attendance at the ballot draw, Country Labor’s Charlie Sheahan and the National’s Steph Cooke drew positions five and six respectively. 

Both candidates say they are not concerned about possibility of donkey votes. 

“It’s always nice to get the top poll but we haven’t got that so it means people are going to have to really think about their ballot papers and hopefully they always do,” Mr Sheahan said. 

“It’s a massive honour and privilege to be able to stand to represent the people of this beautiful electorate and I’m not at all worried about the position that I’ve drawn on the ballot paper,” Ms Cooke said. 

“If people want a person who will deliver for the Cootamundra electorate, they will find me on the ballot paper wherever I am and I strongly encourage people to put a number one next to Steph Cooke.” 

Pre-polling for the by-election will commence in Cowra and Young from October 2.