Juniors inspired by special guest, Shannon Boyd

Left to right: Under 13s award winners Max Coady, Rod Eastwood (coach), Sonny Eastwood, Shannon Boyd, Dylan Whitty, Angelo Baratto (trainer) and Jaylan Simpson.
Left to right: Under 13s award winners Max Coady, Rod Eastwood (coach), Sonny Eastwood, Shannon Boyd, Dylan Whitty, Angelo Baratto (trainer) and Jaylan Simpson.

Cowra's junior rugby league players were treated to a special guest with a familiar face at their awards presentation on Saturday night when Cowra's Shannon Boyd returned home for the weekend.

The former Magpie, now playing for the Canberra Raiders, spoke of his rise into the NRL after starting off in the clubs' junior ranks and presented the lucky juniors with their awards.

Boyd has been a great role model for the juniors of Cowra since making the move south where he has become renowned as one of the most exciting front row prospects in the national competition.

The 23-year-old made his first grade debut in the opening round of the 2014 season and has continually relished the experience of playing in the top grade.

He went on to be recognised as the club's Rookie of the Year last season while establishing himself as a regular week in week out.

This season the barnstorming front rower made 22 appearances for the Green Machine which included five tries.

Unfortunately a rib injury ruled him out of featuring in the Prime Minister's and Papua New Guinea match last week alongside Canberra team mates Jack Wighton and Jarrod Croker.


The curtain was drawn on a successful 2015 Cowra Junior Rugby League campaign on Saturday with a well-attended presentation night held at the Cowra Services Club.

While the club could not boast of a premiership, all sides made it through to the semi-final stage with the under 14s missing the big dance by one game.

The club’s success could not occur without a loyal band of incredibly supportive sponsors and we are thankful for your generosity.

Major sponsors the Cowra Services Club and Boyd Metal Works have supported Cowra Junior Rugby League for many years in some capacity and, together with, Allan Grey and Co, Cowra Health Club, Creative Tiles and LPC Trading have ensured a new crop of footy stars progress through our historically strong rugby league production line.

Special guest Shannon Boyd gave the players and parents an insight into his path to being an NRL member with the Canberra Raiders.

He answered a few tricky questions from the boys who were very keen to know everything from his most hated player to how much he earns.

Thanks for continuing to inspire our young players Shannon. You show that with hard work, achieving dreams is possible.

Thanks to our coaches and trainers, for, without your knowledge and time, the players are merely a bunch of rugby league loving kids.

Your ability to mould the players into a team and, more importantly, fine young men is a credit to you and, as a club, we are truly grateful.

Thanks to MC - Glen ‘Moose’ Moriarty who has performed this role admirably for our club on more than 30 occasions.

To the hard-working committee, led by President Bernie Wilkinson and supported by a large band of parents who volunteer an enormous amount of time for the benefit of our kids, we extend a huge vote of thanks.

All clubs need people to stand up in order to function efficiently and you all have gone beyond the call of duty at times throughout the season.

See you all in 2016.

Award Winners

Under 13s

Team Man – Max Coady

Most Improved – Will Cain

Coach’s Award – Sonny Eastwood

Players’ Player – Jaylan Simpson

Best and Fairest – Dylan Whitty

Under 14s

Team Man – Tom Thuaux

Most Improved – Mitchell Hatch

Coach’s Award – Cameron Trengove

Players’ Player – Jared Burns

Best and Fairest – Josh Cannard

Under 15s

Team Man – Joe Coady

Most Improved – Cameron Roberts

Coach’s Award – Luke Doolan

Players’ Player – Angus Fisher

Best and Fairest – Jacob Pollard

Under 16s

Team Man – Kurt Johnstone

Most Improved – Harrison Wallace

Coach’s Award – Kyle Bohanna

Players’ Player – Jesse Murray

Best and Fairest – Jai Doolan

Steel Balls Award – Toby Apps

Club Person of the Year

Bernie Wilkinson and Grahame Statham