Second-rower named Magpies’ best in 2017

Mitch Browne takes a run during this season's Group 10 competition. Browne was awarded the Jack Keily Shield.
Mitch Browne takes a run during this season's Group 10 competition. Browne was awarded the Jack Keily Shield.

Cowra second-rower Mitch Browne has taken out this season’s Cowra Magpies’ top gong, receiving the Jack Keily Shield for first grade’s best and fairest.

Browne has been one of the Magpies’ most consistent performers throughout the past two seasons and this award gives an indication of just how influential he’s been.

He received the prize at Friday night’s Cowra Magpies awards presentation at the Cowra Services Club.

Fellow second-rower Toby Nobes picked up first grade’s most promising player award while winger Caley Mok took home the coaches award and Blake Tidswell received the most votes from his teammates to receive players’ player.

In the lower grades Casey Smith won best and fairest for league tag, Kurt Johnstone capped off a strong season with the top prize in the 18s and Dave Brooke was recognised as reserve grade’s best.

Melissa Knight was voted players’ player in league tag, Toby Apps won the vote in 18s and Codey Brooks picked up players’ player in reserve grade.

Brendan Tidswell’s league tag coaches award went to Courtney Gambrill, while in the 18s Anthony Day was the recipient and in reserve grade Travis Bryant won the coaches award.

Shailee Dolbel was awarded most promising in league tag while in under 18s it went to Jesse Murray.

The Lunn Bros Trophy awarded to an under 18s player who shows incentive all season went to Jahkai Nelligan and in reserve grade the equivalent David Cork Trophy went to Robbie Pollard.

League tag

Coaches award: Courtney Gambrill

Most improved: Danielle Spence

Most promising: Shailee Dolbel

Players’ player: Melissa Knights

Best and fairest: Casey Smith

Under 18s

Coaches award: Anthony Day

Incentive award (Lunn Bros Trophy): Jahkai Nelligan

Most promising: Jesse Murray

Players’ player: Toby Apps

Best and fairest: Kurt Johnstone

First division

Coaches award: Travis Bryant

Incentive award (David Cork Trophy): Robbie Pollard

Players’ player: Codey Brooks

Best and fairest: David Brooks

Premier league

Coaches award: Caley Mok

Most promising: Toby Nobes

Players’ player: Blake Tidswell

Best and fairest: Mitch Browne